Facebooking Etiquette

I joined a Facebook group for people in my high school’s graduating class. There were supposed to be about 500 of us graduating, but I think only something like 380 actually made it. Apparently walking with the class wasn’t a prerequisite to join the group because I have no idea who any of these people are. I’ve stopped accepting their requests to be my friends. At first I let them all join my little friend group even though I had no idea who they were. It seemed like the right thing to do since denying someone friendship on Facebook is about the laziest way you could ever snub someone–even someone you’re pretty sure you’ve never met. But now I’m not accepting these people I don’t know anymore. They clog my Newsfeed with pictures of their wedding rings, babies, and news of becoming fans of “The X-Files.” Their time is up.

~ by Liquid Astronaut on June 10, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
